St. Mary’s Cathedral Basilica of the Assumption, Covington

On July 29, 1853, His Holiness Pope Pius IX formally erected the Diocese of Covington in Kentucky. At that time the diocese comprised the eastern part of Kentucky.

The then president of Xavier College, Cincinnati, Father George A. Carrell, S.J. was named the first Bishop of the newly created diocese.

Today, over 150 years later, the Diocese of Covington is comprised of the 14 northern-most counties in Kentucky.

Our eleventh bishop, Bishop John C. Iffert, was ordained and installed at the Cathedral Basilica of the Assumption September 30, 2021.