Diocesan Office of Worship and Liturgy Staff

Deacon Peter J. Freeman

Deacon Peter J. Freeman

Director of Worship & Liturgy
Shannon Barnes

Shannon Barnes


Diocesan Worship Commission

The Diocesan Worship Commission serves as an advisory board to the Bishop of Covington and the Office of Worship and Liturgy for the Diocese of Covington.  The members of the Commission, chosen for their expertise in theology, liturgy, music, art, and architecture, provide counsel on liturgical matters pertaining to the Diocese of Covington.  These include: sacramental guidelines, the construction of worship spaces, the renovation of worship spaces, the implementation of directives, and other matters in which the Bishop or Office of Worship seeks their advice.

Diocesan Worship Commission members

Rev. Gerald E. Twaddell

Chaplain and Faculty

Thomas More College


Rev. Stephen M. Bankemper

Pastor, St. Catherine of Siena Parish


Rev. Msgr. William B. Neuhaus

Director of the Office of the Diaconate

Diocese of Covington


Rev. Daniel L. Schomaker

Vicar General, Diocese of Covington

Pastor, St. Augustine Parish, Covington


Rev. Joseph C. Shelton

Administrative Assistant to the Bishop

Episcopal Master of Ceremonies

Diocese of Covington

Deacon Gerald Franzen

Deacon, Cathedral Basilica of the Assumption Parish


Dr. Gregory Schaffer

Organist and Choir Director

Cathedral Basilica of the Assumption Parish


Dr. Cecilia Dorger

Dept of Art, Mount St. Joseph University


Mrs. Katie Barton

Director, Diocesan Choir, Diocese of Covington

Director of Music and Liturgy, St. Mary Parish, Hyde Park


Mr. Bradley Torline

Young Adult Coordinator

Diocese of Covington